A Progress

by Benjamin Golby

supported by
  • Streaming + Download




Soon after completing the album 'I Was Sound' in 2008, I went to live with my Aunt for a while in Hove in the south of England. I worked as a supervisor in a data entry office. I spent the evenings listening to Radio Three and the weekends wandering on the Downs or by the seafront. Sometimes I went to the local cricket ground or drank at a pub.

I began dribbling about with thoughts and harmonic ideas, later to be fleshed out on on my Yamaha CP70. This marvellous piano, an almost antique collection of strings and hammers in a portable MDF case, acts as the sonic fulcrum for the album with its queer rubbery tone.

Recording 'A Progress' was a strange and prolonged affair. Begun in 2010, the process was punctuated with travels to the Orient. Its creation characterises a great many things for me, not the least being sleeplessness which is a nasty business.


released December 19, 2011

'A Progress' was recorded between Spring 2010 and Winter 2011.

Drums, string ensemble, horn ensemble, and "No, Go Not to Lethe" were recorded by Matthew Giovannangelo at studios Underground and Couch.

Benjamin’s vocals were recorded and the album mixed with Stephen Bond of Cazfair House, Highgate.

"Adjunct to This" was recorded by James Trewenack at C&C Music Factory (AUS), Highgate.

The remainder of the album was recorded in the Eton Street Garage, North Perth (sometimes with Rhys Davies), a bit with Michael Geelhoed in his parents’ basement, Nedlands, and round Benjamin’s, in Kelmscott and Como.

Todd Pickett played the drums and sang harmony vocals, Sean Pollard played electric guitar, and Jacob Snell played pedal steel guitar. Bekk Crombie and Perrin Date sang harmony vocals.

The arrangements for "Speak No Goodbye" and "The Dear Glow" were written with Tristen Parr and performed by:
Violin: Rachael Aquilina
Viola: Aaron Wyatt
Cello: Tristen Parr
French Horn: Tahlia Denn

The arrangements for "When I Lapse" and "For What it’s Worth" were written by Mace Francis.

Mace Francis also conducted the following members of the Mace Francis Orchestra in their performance:
Alto and Soprano Saxophone: Ben Collins
Tenor Saxophone: Dan Hart and Sean Little (Solo on "When I Lapse")
Baritone Saxophone: Mark Sprogowski
Trumpet and Flugelhorn: Ricki Malet and Elliot Hughes
Trombone: James Cross
Bass Trombone: Tilman Robinson

"Lord! Come Away!"
Text written by Jeremy Taylor
Music composed by Ralph Vaughan Williams

Text written by William Blake
Music composed by Sir Hubert Parry

Other than those already mentioned, this album could not have been made without the assistance of Pete Carroll, David Cutbush, The Government of Western Australia Department of Culture and the Arts, Russell Loasby, and Erica, late of Torre's Butchers.



all rights reserved


Benjamin Golby Perth, Australia

contact / help

Contact Benjamin Golby

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns